Home » Work » Wanting vs. Giving

Wanting vs. Giving

I realized that most of my life’s future decision’s, worries and planning is around what I want, what I need, what I can become, what I will become, what I can get, what I can lose and what I can keep.

It takes going against this strong current to think of what I can simply give and offer to other people, the earth and everything that could use my energy to change for the better. I have experienced giving as something that gives me energy and that the pressure to always want something is energy draining. Even though I know this, my thoughts default to the ‘I’ in me for the majority of my ‘think’ time.

I looked for a Buddhist view on this phenomena and here is what I found:
The Five Skandhas (It is under this topic on the page below)
http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/intro_bud.htm


 

 

Leave a Reply

